Coopers Community

Bottle Cleaning

Wal

Hi everyone,

I am still pretty new to this home brewing caper, and I must say that it is quite satisfying to consume the fruits of ones labour. So far I have made and bottled about 10 brews - all of which have been quite good. I have so far stuck to pretty standard brews that come in the kits. With 4 little ones in the house time is a very valuable commodity.

Unfortunately the worst (and most time consuming) task is the cleaning and sanitising of bottles. I was wondering if anyone has any hot tips on this topic that can speed things up a little. I know that kegging is probably the simplist answer but unfortunately that is logistically a tall order at present. Any little time savers would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Big Wal

Thanks Graham,

Those look like some good ideas - I might have to do some shopping by the look of things.

As for kegging, sometime soon I might have to do a mirror job and look into it.

Thanks again for the suggestions.

Cheers

Wal

Hi Big Wal

I rinse my bottles straight after pouring just under the tap - cold water only, not hot. This cleans any sediment out.

The Coopers Sanitiser is Sodium Percarbonate which is also used as a cleaner. So all I do is fill the bottles from the FV once it's been sanitised. Shake them around, leave them for a few days, shake again and then empty them, rinse with water and dry (I have a bottle tree and it's sweet as).

Seems to work fine for me.

Hey there Wal!

I'm just heading out to the shed to do that very task [annoyed] .

To make it easier, I went to a cheap shop & bought 2 x 50 ltr tubs & stand the bottles up, (fits about 30 stubbies), fill them with a bit of cleaner/ sanitiser & hot water, then fill the tub, to soak the stickers.

Come back a day or 2 later & the stickes will just fall off, just wipe the glue off, then rinse & dry the bottles ready for sanitising before the big day.

Ok, that's a crap way to do it, still too time consuming.