Coopers Community

Attack of the midgies

I woke up this morning to find midgies everywhere around my Kegerator taps.

Now I have insect glue traps, apple cider vinegar with detergent in a tray all in place.

It has helped and have caught quite a few but it seems like they are arriving in squadrons.

Any other solutions you guys have would be most appreciated.

I have been brewing for over 5 yrs now & never had a problem.

And to make it even more frustrating I just had the whole house sprayed for its yearly birthday 2 weeks ago as I have a Queenslander on stumps, so always have a yearly check & spray for spiders and termites etc (all clear for termites thank goodness). 

‘This is driving me nuts. 🤷‍♂️🤷‍♂️

IMG_5130.jpeg

• Sad 2

1 hour ago, Red devil 44 said:

Now I have insect glue traps, apple cider vinegar with detergent in a tray all in place.

It has helped and have caught quite a few but it seems like they are arriving in squadrons.

And to make it even more frustrating I just had the whole house sprayed for its yearly birthday 2 weeks ago as I have a Queenslander on stumps, so always have a yearly check & spray for spiders and termites etc (all clear for termites thank goodness). 

IMG_5130.jpeg

Hey RD, apart from being a Croweater I have not heard of them, I suppose who have seen this.

https://www.brisbane.qld.gov.au/clean-and-green/natural-environment-and-water/biodiversity-in-brisbane/wildlife-in-brisbane/pest-animals-and-invasive-species/biting-midges-in-brisbane

• Like 2

13 minutes ago, Classic Brewing Co said:

Thanks @Classic Brewing Co, maybe I’ll move down your way and be your neighbour. 🤣🤣

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

19 minutes ago, Classic Brewing Co said:

Ok, maybe just do a Taproom instead, less hassle. 🤔 But then we would still need beer.

It’s a real worry how a lot of these Craft Breweries are in trouble.