Coopers Community

Dextrose or plain ol' sugar?

Scott1525228380

Hi there, I'm a newbie to this home brewing game. Found my local store (in B.C. Canada) stocks a selection of Coopers Brewmaster kits - yippee! Just bottled my first batch of IPA... Anyway my questions is: Is there any difference between using regular white cane sugar or Dextrose? Apart from the fact that dextrose seems to be twice the price.

Scott, you can use either sugar as a fermentable. I prefer Dextrose because it dissolves faster. I haven't used cane sugar for mixing a batch up before but I have used it to prime bottles and I noticed no ill effects. I'm not too sure if it would change the way your beer tastes at all if you used it to mix the kit up. My dad used it for years and always enjoyed his beer though...

Thanks Slurtis, I will use Dextrose for the next batch and see if there is any difference in the taste. As for priming bottles, I bought another fermenter - I syphon the brew into this, dissolve the sugar in a cup of water in a pan first, mix to the brew and then fill the bottles. Was the easiest method I could think of [lol]

Thank Matty, Neither of my fermenting bins have taps so I syphon using a flexible tube. It has a clamp so I can cut-off the flow when I bottle. Low tech but as its slow, doesn't froth up and I can syphon from the top of the brew down which reduces the chance of disturbing the sediment in the bottom fermenter. Also give me a chance for a quick taste taste before bottling! [lol]

• 1 month later...

They say that dextrose is a more complete fermentable sugar (less complexe to digest than regular sugar). So... if you use regular sugar (sucrose) to prime your bottles, I would presume that less fermentation in the bottle results in less carbonation (coz CO2 is the yeast's poop)in the bottles (and a slightly little less ABV). Am I right?

beg my pardon for bluntness.. but, I would go for dextrose OR dry/liquid malt extract.