Coopers Community

Pilsner

MdK

Hi,

Im Emanuele and Im from Italy, so sorry for bad english 🥶

I buy my first kit, Pilsner 86 days and I have some doubt abount the preparation

So, I will preparate the must with water, malt and sugar and it will fermet at 13/15 celsius degree (You use celsius? I dont't remember)

When the FG is stable for 48h i will bottle the beer, and the doubt is:

After priming (I add the sugar in the second fermenter) I will bottle the beer, but about the temperature?

Manual with the fermentator said 18 celsius degree but in the website i read that the temperature must be low

I Thounght to leave the bottle at 13/15 celsius degree for 3 weeks, it is ok or it is too low?

Thanks to all will reply!

ciao amici,

other more experienced brewers here might have better advice than me, but i would suggest to put a blanket over your bottles to trap some warmth in.. and then let us all know how they taste in three weeks time :). I started brewing in the middle of winter here and apart from my first batch when i had no idea what i was doing, every other batch has been ready to go within 2 weeks.

i remember drinking many birra moretti during the few weeks i got to visit italy years ago, good memories 🙂

Hi Emanuele,  I have brewed dozens of these.  Yes ferment the batch out at 13 - 15 Celsius for about 10 days and then bump the temp up to 18 Celsius for say 4 - 5 days more to finish the ferment off properly as this does whats called a D-Rest and cleans up the yeast bi-products generated during the ferment.  So after a total of 14 days I then cold crash the beer for one week at 2 Celsius before I start to bottle.  This causes the yeast will drop down to the bottom of your fermenter and your beer will become very clear.