Coopers Community

Irish Red Ale using Canadian Blonde

Stickers

1163542612_redcanadian.thumb.JPG.556797d3d2c4d3537961d21d87ef7f3a.JPG

coopers canadian blonde can, be2, 1kg carared, 400g light crystal, kveik voss yeast

thinking of one hour stovetop mash of the grains at 70c ish in 3.5 litres and sparging with 1.5, the 30 minute boil. The rest is just kit and kilo. planning on dry hopping with cascade. also, it's getting warmer so i'm going to give kveik voss yeast a go.

still a few days before i make this so any feedback or thoughts is appreciated 🙂

Perhaps some Roasted Barley if you are going for an Irish Red.

I’m not really an expert with Carared as I have only used it once before, but 1kg seems like a lot. Especially combined with 400g light crystal.

I could be wrong though.

• Like 1

6 minutes ago, Hairy said:

I’m not really an expert with Carared as I have only used it once before, but 1kg seems like a lot. Especially combined with 400g light crystal.

the main reason i added the crystal was to bump it onto the 'good' range on the spreadsheet EBC calculations, i could always dump that part if EBC chasing isn't really worth it

Just now, Stickers said:

the main reason i added the crystal was to bump it onto the 'good' range on the spreadsheet EBC calculations, i could always dump that part if EBC chasing isn't really worth it

It’s all about balance. 

Irish Reds tend to be a bit drier and the roasted barley helps with this. Too much crystal will leave the beer too sweet.

Check out some recipes online to get an idea of the grain additions.

• Like 1

Hi @Stickers, I agree with Hairy on this.  I think you need a blend.  There is nothing wrong with the crystal, but you might have too much Carared.  I have never done a red ale, so do not know from experience.  Your recipe might work out fine.  However, looking at other recipes they tend to have a blend rather than getting the 'red' from one main addition.