Coopers Community

Calibrating Brewing Fridge vs.standard temp sticker

Big Flea

I have just put down my 3rd brew today and I am lucky enough to have a temp control fridge. I don't see myself as a master brewer but I Im a expert when it comes to temp control.[innocent] (Ive built and design a temp control system wich we export to over 50 countries world wide).

I have took a k-type thermocouple and put it trough the centre of the Coopers FV in the middle of the liquid.

The reading on the strip on the side of the FV reads 22C, the digital temp controler reads 18C.

I assume and would like to say to our fellow brewers without fridges to run there brew's at 22C with the sticker and they will be fine.

I must add that Ive tested more than one tempcontroler and I have used a thermcouple next to the sticker and get the same temp diffrnce.

Is there anyone out there with the same observations?

the stick on type is really an indicator.. I wouldnt be believing that number as gospel... that said, Ive never felt the need to have a thoremo-well installed to the FV.. I find an insulated probe on the side of the FV to be accurate enough and a reasonable account of the ferment temp...

If you need further clarificaion BF, please elaborate on the specifics of the question.. do you advocate the thermo-well or just a generalised response to the perceived accuracy of the stick ons?

Howzit Yob,

Just a genral response will be good enough to see if there is any other similiar observations. While seting up my fridge and because I have the equipment I tought I would put my thermocouple inside the FV. Its like going to the doctor, he either stick the the thermomater in your mouth or up your @ss for a reading. When you dead they stick it under your arm or touch your head on the outside of your body. [lol]