Coopers Community

refridgerating coopers comercial yeast?

MichaelJ13

Hi everyone Im fairly new to brewing and on my 3rd brew now, i thought that for my 4th brew i would try reculturing the yeast from 4 bottles of coopers pale ale for my apa. the reculture seems to be working well the bottles have been in my cupboard for 2 days and the seem to be foaming a bit when i shake them witch leads me to believe it's ready to pitch (I think). the only problem is I think brew 3 still has a couple of days to go. So my question is should i leave the bottles in the cupboard or put them in the fridge? and also is there any other signs i should look for to tell me if the yeast is ready?

how long could i leave them in the cupboard? and does the yeast multiply in there or just re-activate? i'm just a little worried because i have read a lot of posts where the commercial yeast has stopped early and just want to make sure that doesn't happen to me.

Not sure what causes it to stall mate, but my second brew using this yeast stalled at 20 degrees! [crying] Racked it to secondary to wake it up, and it knocked another couple of points off. Ended up bottling in disgust, but they're some fizzy bastards now! Leads me to believe she still wasn't done, as there's way too much gas for 6g per litre priming.

i have been doing a bit more research and it seems some people increase the volume of the starter after a couple of days. should i be doing this? especially since i need it to last a few more days until Im ready to brew again. it also seems a lot of people use malt instead of dextrose Im not really sure why.

Hello Michael. (Nice to meet you)

I've done a number of re-cultures of the Coopers commercial ale yeast now, without any problems. If you follow the guide listed on the forum to the letter, note the timing of when to begin the process before you plan to put your brew down, & especially control the temperature range throughout the process, you won't go wrong. Promise.