Coopers Community

Coopers Pale Ale Home Brew Kit- Lack of Head?

DavidK20

Hey guys. This is my first post!!!!! YAY!!!! [lol] Anyways, Im also new to home brewing. My first brew was the Coopers Pale Ale which was bottled on Thursday 20th December 2012. I have also brewed a cider which I bottled on the 1st January 2013. I have sampled a few bottles of the Pale Ale and Im very impressed. For a first attempt at brewing Im very happy. But Ive noticed that there's a good amount of head at first pour, but the head goes away after about 1-2minutes. Also, the beer isnt flat, because there are still lots of bubbles jumping around in the brew whilst drinking. The only thing I did that wasnt on the instructions was I added 1.5kg of Brew Enhancer 2 instead of 1kg. I prefer stronger alcohol beers and "assumed" adding more brewing sugar would bump up the alcohol. Being a amateur I guess that could be a bad move? Would that effect the head on the beer? I have sterilised everything as well as I believe I could have. I didnt take a hydrometer reading when I pitched the yeast. Once again, because of lack of experience. But once I realised, I took reading the next day. Reading was 1045. FG was 1012. I guessed that OG might have been about 1050? Brewing temp was fairly steady between 24-26 degrees. Im still very pleased with my first attempt, but trying to learn from any mistakes for my next brew. Im planning to brew a India Pale Ale next. I love American IPA's because of the more floral hops. Any tips on brewing that would be much appreciated. Looking at probably dry hopping as well but will do that in the primary because I only have the 1 fermenter tub. Is that a good idea or not? Thanks in advance!!! Cheers- Dave [biggrin]

Hi Dave, firstly welcome to the wonderful world of home brewing, and the forum!