Coopers Community

A few questions

StuartJ

Complete newbie here, and sorry if any of this has been asked previously. I wasn't able to find any answers by searching.

I'm on my first brew using the Coopers Wheat beer kit. I initially thought I had ruined it, as the temperature was still around 33 when I added the yeast, but after two days at a constant 22 degrees, it seems to be fermenting, so I guess we'll see.

I saw one set of instructions where it said to stir the yeast in, and another that said not to stir it in, just to sprinkle it on top. Should I have stirred it? Can I move the fermenting vessel or stir it during the fermentation process? Can I add things like honey and/or citrus extracts 2 or 3 days in?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Stuart

Hi Stuart - Welcome [biggrin]

You can move your FV (gently) but don't stir it. People will have different ways of doing things but generally you sprinkle dry yeast and stir liquid or rehydrated yeast.

You can add things during fermentation if done properly but if it is your first brew I would keep it simple and stick to your original plan.

For your next brew try to get you temp down at least 10C before adding your yeast. Depending on the time of year this may require you to put some water in the fridge the day before brewing.

Hiya Stuart & welcome to the forum.

Great advice by the guys so far on your questions.

Learn to achieve your fermenter primary temperature before pitching your yeast. It'll save you a lot of time & worry. If you are using a brew kit tin, the instructions will guide you on how to achieve that start temperature by mixing various levels of hot & cold water. Try not to get ahead of yourself & just follow those instructions as best you can, it's really worth it. [happy]

I brew with dry yeast & I'm most happy to close & tighten my fermenter lid once I know my yeast has been sufficiently "dunked" under the brew liquid & stirred a few times. That is only my personal preference though.