Coopers Community

drinking time

stever13

hi everyone im new to this home brewing and i am so excited about it all. i cant say my partner is but.lol anyway i have a question and it is how long is the best time to leave my bottled beer before i can drink it with it been carbonated and left long enough to taste great.

thanks everyone

steve

Welcome to the forums mate,

Your question really depends on the beer style, darker, maltier and higher alcohol beers benefit from time in the bottle, hoppier tasting beers are best drank 'fresh' because the hop taste deteriorates.

I have Lambics and Dubbels in the cupboard that I brewed years ago and Im currently drinking an APA which I only kegged a couple of weeks ago.

Carbonation times vary with temps, I carb my bottles around 18\xb0c and they can take upto 4 weeks to carb correctly.

Good luck mate

Welcome Steve.

It should be carbonated after 2 weeks, but it won't be anywhere near its best for flavour or head retention. I reckon any time after 6 weeks is okay, but if you can stand buying some store bought and letting it get to 10 weeks or more the difference is amazing. Best idea is to get hold of a massive collection of bottles and brew like mad until you have a couple hundred maturing in the cupboard. You may end up drinking a bit of young beer, but eventually you'll catch up to yourself and be drinking all well-aged deliciousness.

Have fun dude [happy]