Coopers Community

Hops: question

SeanS4

Hi All, I'm a novice, about to put down brew number 10 in a few days. Lots of talk on here about hops and various ways to put them in the mix. Can anyone recommend two (or more) beers that I can buy at a local bottle shop, so I can taste the difference between hops and no hops (or as close as possible to either extreme) in a similar style of beer?? I'm in VIC, Australia. Thx.

Mountain goat steam ale V's Coopers pale ale

Coopers has a bittering addition only

MGSA is my new favorite on tap at the local, I do note that this beer changes from month to month both in flavour and in colour, perhaps they are still tweaking the recipe, I really enjoy the subtle ballence with this beer and the hops shining through..

Mmmmmm hops[love]

Find an India Pale Ale (IPA) Sean - that's hops in a glass pretty much. Delicious on a warm day. It has a lot of bitterness from hops, as well as flavour and aroma generally.

I love LCPA too, especially when you're at the brewery in Freo sitting out over the water with friends on a hot afternoon - maybe Yob hasn't experienced that slice of paradise? [lol] I think the LCPA is a great example for getting the aroma from the hops.

I agree with yob on Fat Yak. Makes my tummy [sick]

+1 for LCPA and Fat Yak as an introduction to hops. My first recollection of a Craft Beer (apart from 2MT) was Fat Yak on tap at a nice roof top beer garden in Albury. Not long after the kids gave me my Coopers DIY kit I had SWMBO buy me a carton of LCPA. By doing this you get two sets of appreciation, the first is the Cascade hop the second is at $72 a carton you are going to save a lot of cash if you can make this stuff yourself. Then there is the challenge of not only matching the LCPA and Yaks of this world but also actually producing something that's even better, and then you forget about the saving cash bit.

A Corona barely has any hops in it.

Corona barely has any beer in it [cool]