Coopers Community

Mid-Strength recipe advice

hudsonf

hi there ive been trying to create a mild about 4% bottled beer with no sediment.i used coopers european lager,and after fermenting for ten days the fg reading was in the low end of the green beer mark on my hydrometer it smelled and looked like good beer. i used Sodium metabisulphite to stop it fermenting any further as i wanted to keep the av at around 4%. i bottled my brew using coopers carbonising drops. this is my first attempt at making beer and im now thinking by killing the yeast ive ruined the whole batch.could you please tell me if you think the carb drops will work with no yeast in the bottles thanks hudson

WTF did you do with the Metabisulphate?

It is wise not to stop the yeast doing their job if you have no experience. It is likely that it could start to continue fermenting in the bottle and that is something you certainly do not want.

Why didn't you just do a brew that will only give 4% ABV anyway?

Unless you are using C02 then you need yeast to carbonate the bottles.

Christ almighty!! ...er....er...

I hope you dont have asthma or let anyone who does drink it mate!!

Sodium Met

what strength did you mix it at?

[crying]

Personally I wouldnt dream (nightmare)of doing what you have done and would toss it on the garden.

Sorry, I usually never say that.

Yob

Hudson, can you give us some more details on what you actually did? Like Bill, I'm a little confused [unsure]

A couple of points though:

could you please tell me if you think the carb drops will work with no yeast in the bottles

If you have indeed killed all the yeast then the carb drops won't work ie. carbonate. They will just dissolve and you will have sugary flat beer.

ive been trying to create a mild about 4% bottled beer with no sediment

Do you mean having no sediment in the bottle? If you are naturally carbonating the beer in bottles then you won't avoid sediment in the bottle.