Coopers Community

What should i use to clean the plastic Coopers beer bottles. Also should i scrub them with a brush or not ? Making my 2nd batch soon

Hey all, might seem like a dumb question, but im new to this and made one batch and ready for the second.

I am using the plastic coopers bottles and did some reading and getting some conflicting info.

Questions:

1 - whats best to clean the bottles with.
2 - should i clean them JUST before i bottle or can i do it a week before, dry them and put the caps on waiting for the fill up days?
3 - someone mentioned not to use a brush to scratch the inside of the bottles? 

any info would be greatly appreciated and thank you

Cheers.

JOHnny

• Like 1

5 minutes ago, JohnnyHavana said:

Hey all, might seem like a dumb question, but im new to this and made one batch and ready for the second.

I am using the plastic coopers bottles and did some reading and getting some conflicting info.

Questions:

2 - should i clean them JUST before i bottle or can i do it a week before, dry them and put the caps on waiting for the fill up days?

Cheers.

JOHnny

Hi Johnny,

1. Warm to hot water, not boiling with a little  Bi Carb of Soda & a good shake up, rinse several times or you can buy commercial cleaners from Home Brew Shops/online.  Best not to use detergent as it will affect gead retention. 

2. Once they are clean you can store them with the lid on & bottle when ready.

3. A soft brush is OK but if you rinse them several times after emptying they will just need a light rinse.

Hard brushes are not recommended. 

Cheers 

Phil

• Like 2

Hello @JohnnyHavana,