Coopers Community

Having a go at my first brew

Mrbeer95

hello, all

it's my first time brewing and would appreciate some advice I've recently bought a cooper's DIY brew 23L kit. I started by cleaning  the equipment with warm water as directed in the instructions book and then i added all the ingredients that came with the kit  I forgot to do a hydrometer read before i added the yeast in.

how bad have I screwed up? and my starting temperature was 18 -20-22c on the sticker but keeps dropping to 16-18-20c will that make my beer not ferment properly? how will it affect my brew.

Cheers 

• Like 2

31 minutes ago, Mrbeer95 said:

hello, all

it's my first time brewing and would appreciate some advice I've recently bought a cooper's DIY brew 23L kit. I started by cleaning  the equipment with warm water as directed in the instructions book and then i added all the ingredients that came with the kit  I forgot to do a hydrometer read before i added the yeast in.

how bad have I screwed up? and my starting temperature was 18 -20-22c on the sticker but keeps dropping to 16-18-20c will that make my beer not ferment properly? how will it affect my brew.

Cheers 

Welcome to the forum and the wonderful world of brewing beer.

Don't worry, you haven't screwed up. The OG reading isn't vital. I often forget to take a reading. As long as you take readings toward the end of the fermentation to see when you are done, all is good. If it was only a short while ago when you pitched the yeast, you can still take a reading, just once the yeast is in full swing and you see a krausen (that's the foam on top of the brew), it becomes pointless as it has already dropped.