Coopers Community

Dilution

DannyP

Hi all, I am new to brewing. I recently put down a variation on a scotch ale, 9 litre wort using crystal malt, cara pils and light malt extract. I put the wort in 2 x gallon jars but under estimated my first jar and had to top it up with about a litre of water. This jar stopped fermenting after a couple of days, while the 2nd jar is still producing gas in it's second week (mind you, the 2nd jar took the dregs of the wort). My question: has it stopped fermenting due to the heavy dilution?

heavy sigh.. Have you taken an SG reading?

It seems quite likely that a more diluted wort will finish quicker..

gallons and liters in the one breath? lordy.. so it was diluted 1/6?

Just blend the two at the end when you bottle and it will all be sweet.

I agree with Yob - have you taken a SG reading?... if not then HEAVY SIGH!!!.... now you ask us if your brew has stopped fermenting. Well, there is no sure way to tell unless you take gravity readings regardless of an experiment or not.

So... to answer Yob's question to help you, did you take a reading?

Heavy sigh. I didn't ask if it has stopped fermenting, it has. I know this because I took a gravity reading. I simply asked whether fermentation had stopped early due to the dilution of unit 1 (1st gallon). I am new to brewing, but I did not go into it lightly, I researched so I would have some idea before I started. My first brew, a porter, made from grain and unflavoured extract, using the same method, came out very nice as did the barley wine (same method), I had an idea the dilution was the cause, but was looking for someone to elaborate further. Instead i've been met with discouraging comments which have made me not want to ask for advice again. Thanks anyway. Danny

Sigh.

If you ask such a diluted question, you should expect a watered down response. . .[annoyed]