Coopers Community

Coopers Heritage Lager

Freestyler

Hey guys,

I'm new to Home brewing and to the forum on the coopers site. So firstly I'd like to say hi to everyone out there and I'm looking forward to getting involved in here.

I've just bottled my first brew, the kit lager and just followed the directions without any additions or adjustments and everything went smoothly enough.

I usually drink lagers down here in South Africa and would like to make a good lager next although I cant get fermenting temperature under 20-21 degrees. Is it possible to brew a lager from 21 degrees upwards?

Also are there any suggestions in changing the recipe up, I've been told using the brew enhancer adds a 'horlicks' flavour to the beer and some have suggested using only Dextrose or possible other substitutes.

Being new to home brewing I will need to keep this as simple as possible, no racking, secondary fermenting etc. At least for now!

Any advice would be great for my second batch!

Thanks guys,

Welcome aboard Damien!

Glad everything went well with your first batch; you're probably hooked on this hobby now.

Unfortunately, to brew a "proper" lager you will need to use a lager yeast. And that means fermenting at low temperatures ie. 10-13 degrees.

However, you can still make ales that have a lager feel to them (sort of).

Perhaps a cream ale or a kolsch. Something with extra light malt, a clean, neutral yeast like US-05 and moderately hopped. Maybe throw in some rice malt.

You could use the Heritage lager kit, a can of extra light liquid malt (pilsener malt), US-05 yeast and ferment it at 16-18 degrees if you can.

If you do a search on the site you will find various ways people maintain lower temps eg. fridge with temp controller, tub of water and ice etc.

If you do get yourself a fridge and controller then you can brew whatever you want all year round.

Good luck with it.

Welcome Damien