Coopers Community

Brand New To Brew

ThomasS9

Hi All, [biggrin]

My name is Tom, I'm brand new to brewing beer (just picked up a Coopers Kit last weekend) and wanted to say hello!

I have one question though. My first brew has been in the FV for 2 days now and is going well. OG of 1038 and constant temp of 22-24degrees.

When I put the yeast in, it was sitting on the thin layer of foam on the top. Earlier today, some of the yeast was still on the top, so I stirred it in. I have now read that adding oxygen to the brew during fermentation is bad.

Have I possibly ruined the brew?

Cheers,

Tom

Firstly, welcome Tom!

I would have just left it as it is. The yeast would eventually settle through the wort.

I would be more concerned with infecting the brew by opening the lid and stirring with a spoon. But if your sanitation is good then there probably isn't a drama.

As for oxygenation, I'm no expert but someone here should be able to answer it. I'd say it is really only a problem if you did it after fermentation had finished, not at the start.

Thanks Hairy!

Yeah, I was thinking I should have just let it be... what will be the best way to check its not affected without waiting for weeks? Check the SG has gone down after a few more days? I took a small sample today (day 2) and it was very frothy/bubbly, so im sure fermentation is occuring.

Thanks for your help mate :)

Tom

G'day Tom, welcome to the forum.

I've only been brewing since September so I'm far from an expert.

Something I've learnt on here about infections is if it smells like beer & tastes like beer it's probably beer & should be good to drink. Infections have a variety of smells & tastes & from what the fellow brewers say you will know when you have got one [sick]

You sound like a lot of first time brewers, worrying about the progress of your first brew (me included[cool] ). Another thing I have learnt on here is relax & be patient.