Coopers Community

So...where should I go next

my question is simple, I am still quite new to brewing and have only used coopers kits following the instructions on the cans. I have been quite happy with the results but would like some suggestions on what i could do next to improve my brewing experience and branch out a bit more. whatwould be worthwile trying without being too tricky? [roll]

Get your favourite kit and brew it with just 1kg DME or 1.5kg can of LME.

Once the krausen dies down and airlock stops bubbling, throw in 30g of Cascade pellets (if you want to be fancy, use a muslin bag weighed down with glass marbles)

Bottle and prime as normal after another week.

Gratz. You've just dryhopped your first brew. It's all-malt and it will be amazing.

Yeah, that'd be no problem. Just make sure they're hop pellets because they'll eventually just sink into the trub, whereas leaf will float a lot longer then probably just sit on the botto and block your tap on bottling.

If you use a mulsin bag, sterilize it by boiling it in water for a few minutes.

I always think there are two things people can try when they ask this question:

1 - experiment with hops

2 - experiment with grains

Using malt instead of other sugars is also good, but not experimental enough to be on my list [wink]

I always float the idea of experimenting with both though. I mean ... why not? Might seem a little much, but it's really not and you'll do it one day anyway. Also, mistakes are fun and it's actually harder to bugger up than you think. Learning by doing! I'll spell out some easy steps for Dr. Smurto's Golden Ale if you'd like. It's a great recipe.

Hi Grante1, & welcome to the forum. [smile]

As you have been primarily using the "coopers kits following the instructions on the cans", I would highly recommend you taking a look in the How To Brew section of the Coopers website.