Coopers Community

Next brew, leftovers?

TobiasA

So, I had plans on doing something with Australian Pale Ale and Wheat extract, but summer is coming and I don't know if I can brew anything then due to the heat. So for next brew I was thinking of things I already have at home.

Can of Coopers IPA

1,5-2kg Malt extract

US-05 Yeast

Amarillo 15g@15min

Amarillo 30g@5min

Amarillo/Cascade 30g@flameout

And then maybe some dryhop.

Will this work at all? Will I need some more bitterness with that amount of extract?

I'm still new at making recipes so any help will be appreciated :)

Thanks for all the help and comments :)

Hi Tobias. Looks nice. [happy]

Will the malt extract be liquid or dry?

It's dry malt extract.

If it was me, I would throw some dex in there too. Between 300 and 500g.

May as well make it a big one.

Can do, think I have somewhere around 200g dex left. And some BE1 if that helps anything. Not sure right now (at work) but I should have 3kg of dry malt extract...

How about moving some of those hops earlier like maybe 30 mins along with the 2kg of malt and making it to 23L?

Can do, the problem with that is that my boiling pot is 5 liter only so I usually (have only done it 3 times) stick with 3liter of water.

How warm does it get in Sweden in the summer? That is actually a serious question' date=' I'm curious. [biggrin']

Checked the wiki page, and it says average temperature about 25 degrees, but in the sun on a good day, up to 35 is not uncommon, sometimes even more...

Thanks for all the help and comments :)

It's dry malt extract.

Firstly, you're very welcome mate. [biggrin]

Secondly, if it's dry malt extract (DME) then that's a fair bit, and some extra bitterness and Hairy's suggestion of some simple sugars would help with evening out the residual sweetness.

So basically, I'm being unhelpful as always and pointing out the good points others have made. [lol]