Coopers Community

Water Differences

Muss

I have been brewing now for about four years and am reasonably happy with my product (it tastes good and I get fairly wobbly from it), I have recently installed a rainwater tank for drinking water purposes and was wondering if rainwater is any better or worse than town water for brewing. I have asked a few mates who brew and have varying answer. Maybe someone in out there in brewland has more experience.

• 5 weeks later...

Gday, Muss.

I've been brewing for about 30 years and using tank water for the last twenty without and problems. My tank has a small tank inside which catches and discards the first flow from the roof, eliminating the dust and bird crap; and a seive which catches all the feathers, leaves, dead beetles, etc. Most modern tanks are so equipped and if yours is you shouldn't have to worry.

Dont use the clorinated, fluoridated rubbish.... stay with pure (ish) tank water.

Regards, John.

Thanks John,

I have various debris filters in place so sounds like I should be right. I'll give it a go for a few months and compare but your right pure must be better

Cheers

• 1 month later...

I have had my best results with brewing using filtered tank water, using a two stage (ceramic and activated charcoal) whole house water filter. The tanks had debris filters to catch any leaves and sticks.

Unfortunately now, as I have moved, I have to use town water. I'd use filtered tank water over town water any day. Pure is better.

Vote me in for the Nayes. Tap water has body - plenty of minerals and interest. Which is what you NEED for the majority of brews - guts! Bring it on!

I'll take the point for the clear lager type brews - go with rainwater.

But for Ale? For Stout? No argument in my mind.

bah! You're all completely nuts! :o

Saying that "town water is better" is like saying that newspaper is better than old Cleo mags for toilet paper. ;)