Coopers Community

Ginger Experiment

TheRobbo

Hi guys, quick question I have been brewing for a few years now and had the idea to try and re-create a Bundy Dark & Stormy (ginger beer and bundy rum pre-mix).

My idea is to brew up a batch of (Alcholic) Ginger Beer as I normally would which I really enjoy, only this time to spice things up a little I am thinking of putting a little rum in the bottom of the bottles before I fill and cap them ready for conditioning.

My question is "How much rum should I be looking at per 330ml bottle?"

I am thinking 10/15ml, though I am worried about killing the secondary ferment off and ruining all that lovely ginger beer and rum I could have kept separate [pinched]

Thanks in advance for any help.

TR

I am thinking 10/15ml' date=' though I am worried about killing the secondary ferment off and ruining all that lovely ginger beer and rum I could have kept separate [pinched']

Robbo Mate

I'm thinking you should keep it seperate. What is the advantage that your looking for by having a premix? If the advantage out ways the risk then you should go for it. You could also consider dropping the rum into the primary, I'm sure I've seen a recipe somewhere that sees top shelf added to the FV [unsure]

You could also consider dropping the rum into the primary' date=' I'm sure I've seen a recipe somewhere that sees top shelf added to the FV [unsure']

Ha

But that was essence. How about adding Rum essence to the primary ferment and adjusting the sugar to achieve the desired ABV %?

Well considering that when people mix up spirits and soft drinks it's normally a shot (30mL) of spirits in the 200/250mL glass, 10 or 15mL in 330mL is probably gonna be pretty pizz weak in flavour. If it was me I'd probably just keep them separate and "post-mix" in a glass. It's easier and you can tailor it to taste much easier.