Coopers Community

The Outlaw Parrot

Outlaw Parrot

Hello all,

I am a 41yr old dad from Campbelltown,NSW.

I have a very wide range of interests and hobbies, from this new hobby(brewing)to, Exotic Parrot breeding, Playing Guitar,Harleys, Building Custom High End PC's and more.

I work as a Mechanical Engineer, but on compo at present due to a serious back injury.

I have just mixed my first Coopers Pale Ale Brew.

I have brewed twice before, years ago when my dad used the open bucket in the laundry method, my dads beer tasted like sh#t [lol]

I really like my high alcohol beers, such as Coopers Sparkling Ale, Coopers Extra Stout and Elephant Beer. I only made Pale Ale this time, cause thats what came in the kit [roll]

I am looking forward to brewing some excellent quality home beer and keeping the (beer tax) government out of my pockets [devil]

Cheers,

Outlaw Parrot

Welcome! This is a hobby you won't regret taking up.

I don't know how much reading and other research you've done before starting, but here are a few points every new brewer should take to heart as soon as possible:

1) ALWAYS sanitize all equipment thoroughly. Cut no corners. Anything that touches your beer should be sanitized.

2) Disregard the temperature instructions provided with kits. If possible, try keep your ales brewing at 18-20 degrees C. This will result in a cleaner tasting beer as higher temperatures promote the production of esters, a by-product of the fermentation process.

3) Give your brew time. Two weeks in the fermenting vessel before bottling is a good rule of thumb, even if the fermentation has finished after a week. This will give the yeast time to sort of clean up after itself and make the brew clearer at bottling time. Once again, the result will be a cleaner tasting beer.

4) Minimize the use of sugars and use dry malt extract or liquid malt extract instead. This will result in more flavor and less by-products.