Coopers Community

AHB Kit and Extract Beer Designer

Smithy

Hey guys,

Do many people use this spread sheet much when designing their beers? I've been using it to play around a bit but not sure on the accuracy of it.

A few sources have told me totally different things about this spread sheet, which is unfortunate because it's such an awesome tool.

Has anyone found this spread sheet to be accurate or inaccurate?

Cheers

I used it for ages, what I felt was great about it was the hops part to assess the IBU's I was adding. As I now mostly do AG brews im using different software as it doesnt cater for Mash brewing but I loved it and is a great tool for beginners to get a 'feel' for what they are doing.

Certainly helped me get where I am... not that where I am is anywhere special... Im still learning the ropes [roll]

Yob

It was a Tasmanian who designed it. You know what they say?... two heads are better than one [biggrin]

I never had any issues using it and would recommend it to anyone else.

It is about as accurate as it can get, pretty much spot on imo.

If you have any queries with the developer then give Ianh a message on AHB.

Awesome, thanks for the responses guys. I was hoping it was accurate because it'll make things so much easier for me!

I have a stout to go down in a few weeks that it says should be around 6.5% ABV, whereas another spreadsheet I used said 7.3%! Not that a stout ABV bothers me too much, I was thinking more for future brews if I wanted to go for a mid strength and ended up with a face smasher! [devil]

You know... I spent a fair amount of time not far away from you Bill' date=' I lived in Howrah for many years [bandit']

and yes, I still have the scar

I am in Tranmere, so a lot closer than you thought, it appears [ninja]

pffft... the dirty south of tasmania...[lol]

i grew up in Launceston myself (only left 4 years ago).