Coopers Community

os draught

hello all jamies the name i have been trying to join this forum for ages damm thing only just let me. All i have been able to do for months was read trying to join had me at a blank page. Anyway i have been brewing coopers cans for 2 years now started up again last time was when i was 16 with my uncles left over when he stopped. Bill i see your from hobart tasmania my birthplace and residence until 7 years ago.

i am brewing original series draught at the moment pitched the yeast at 3pm friday just straight dextrose 1kg plus tin krousen has only just dropped in this morning its been warm up here and i have no aircon in beer room so i use a tub of cold water to keep it cool anyone else do this from what i have read most brew in fridges cheers jamie.

ok kids finally left me alone have to hurry stuff to do before arvo shift my next brew im planning on doing after new years but need to get bigger pot up to 15 litres want to add some crystal malt and LDME and make a hop tea of some sort or maby add straight to boil not sure yet last few batches i played with came out too hoppy

Hi Jamie, welcome to the forum.

I've made 4 batches now of the OS draught as follows, and its been a beautiful drop that everyone compliments.

OS Draught tin

1kg Light dry malt (I suppose you could use the 1.5 tin of liquid in it's place here)

250g Dextrose

12g Morgans Hallertau finishing hops (10 min steep in 1 cup boiling water, added to fermenter before yeast)

Kit yeast, or US-05

21L water

I brew in an old fridge, that doesn't work, but if the temperature is getting up, I bang in 4 ice cream containers with ice in them in there, and the insulation of the fridge helps keep things cool. I can't generally get to the 'ideal' temps, but am able to maintain around 20 degrees this way.

Also as a side note to PB2 or others, is there much diffence in the OS draught and the Traditional one?

If the taste of the Traditional is better, I'd like to give it a go!