Coopers Community

My First Brew

LesM2

Hi Guys

Im a newbie to and on friday i put down my first 2 brews.

Brew 1 is a coopers australian pale ale + be2 + kit yeast pitched at 25C airlock started bubbling away slowly 7 hrs later current temp is at 23C

Brew 2 is a coopers canadian blonde + be1 + kit yeast pitched at 26C airlock started bubbling away slowly 14 hrours later current temp is at 23C. Im assuming that sine there is less fermentables it took longer for fermentation to start.

Both brews have been consistently sitting at 23C for the last 2 days and are bubbling away quite nicely.i plan on bottling both on saturday. So fermentation 8 days. i forgot to take the OG reading. My stupid mistake.

Is everything going to plan or should i wait longer before bottling. Any advice would be great.

Cheers

Welcome to the forum Les.

I like how you jumped straight into it with two brews on your first go.

The lag time between pitching the yeast and active visible fermentation is affected by various factors eg. temperature and amount of viable yeast pitched. But both of yours seem normal.

You pitched the yeast at good temps but if possible you should try to bring the temp down a few more degrees. 18-20 degrees is perfect so a reduction of a few degrees will help you. There are some ideas for keeping the FV cool in the FAQ (link below).

FAQs

With regards to bottling, it shouldn't be based on days but rather your SG readings. Once your SG readings are stable over a couple of days it is ok to bottle (provided it is in line with your anticipated FG).

But then again, your beer will be better if you leave it for a week after reaching FG to allow the yeast the clean up and drop out of suspension.

Generally, you will find that leaving ales in the FV for two weeks will achieve all this. But still check with your hydrometer [rightful]

Good luck with it all.