Coopers Community

flavour missing

TrickyM

Hi,

as a new brewer I would like some advice.

I have put down 4 brews in the past 6 weeks.

I've been using Coopers Pale Ale, 500 gm Enhancer No 2 & bottling with carbonation drops. I've followed the instructions diligently.

I store the finished brew bottles inside my cloak room with a constant temp of 15-18 degrees.

My 1st 2 brews have been severly lacking in flavour (I regularly drink both Pale & Mild Ale) & I'm hoping it is due to the brews being very young. I'm aware the longer a brew sits the better it tastes.

Am I too eager here or are you thinking something's odd?

cheers

Tricky

Hi Tricky,

I am only fairly new to this myself.

Is there any reason you are only using 500g of the BE2??? I would suggest that you should be using the full 1kg as the receipe states on the website:

http://www.coopers.com.au/the-brewers-guild/how-to-brew/ale/coopers-pale-ale

Ingredients

\u2022Australian Pale Ale

\u2022Brew Enhancer 2 (or 500g Light Dry Malt + 250g Dextrose)

Just my 2c - I am sure others will add.

Cheers,

Matt

Replace the Brew Enhancer with Light Dry Malt and see if that makes any difference.

Also, if you're only using 500 grams you're not going to get much out of it in alcohol or added malt flavour, I'd up it to 1 kg. This will give a nice malt flavour at around 4.5-5% alcohol.

Guys, I've read somewhere the Brew Enhancer could be replaced with white sugar if need be & as 1 kg would give an ABV of 4.5-5 %.

I thought by halving the amount used would drop the ABV to approx 3.5 %.

I'd love to make a mid strength beer with flavour but would prefer to keep the alcohol down.

Maybe I need to try other products to achieve this?

G'day Tricky,

Welcome to the fine art of brewing.

There doesn't seem to be many people in this forum that brew "middies". I'm certainly not one of them.

Whilst my partener and I brew full strength and occasionally silly strength beers mid strength is a staple.