Coopers Community

original series draught yeast/ recipe

swifty

hello

after doing a couple of kit brews now, i have got two cans of original series draught.

i am a little confused about the yeast, on the "how to brew" section of the coopers site it recommends lager temperatures but the instructions are different.

my yeast packets only have a date code.

any ideas on fermentation and maybe a recipe to brew with the two cans and maybe some hops?

sorry if sounds a bit basic but i am new to brewing[innocent]

many thanks

Hey Glen,

Are you looking at this recipe?

Fresh Draught

That`s made with the Can of Thomas Coopers Traditional Draught not the Original series, Im pretty sure the OS cans have a blend of ale/lager yeast and need to ferment around the low 20`s

Sticky for the yeast is here Here

thanks for that looks like i was looking at the wrong instructions! so could i make a beer using both cans together and some ale yeast and maybe some hop tea?

would i need any extra brewing sugar if i used both cans?

many thanks

glen

All I have to remember about the yeast is You only have to brew the Thomas Coopers Pilsner and the European Lager at lager temps which is around 11C, while you brew the rest at Ale temps wich is around 20C.

All OS kits are using ale yeast, even the lager.

thanks guys for reply think i will do the two cans os draught, ferment at 20c and maybe add a little flavour/aroma with a 15 min boil.

i presume i can do the boil with about 5 litres of water and 500g extract and add hops for 15 min and 0 mins?

i was thinking maybe cascade hop for flavour and aroma?

many thanks

hi glen,

just so happens i'm sampling an OS Draught hopped with cascade at the momment.[cool] it's only been in bottle since april 22. it is surpassing my expectations for such a green beer. the aroma is quite nice. and the flavour totally quaffable.[wink] the recipe is very simple.

23l water

1.7 OS draught kit

600g dex

480 malto dex (liquid)

7g copper's kit yeast