Coopers Community

Guinness draft equivalent

Lark

Hi folks - I’m new to this - only done about 30 brews and all out of tins but fantastic results so far, the last 75% Coopers variants - one thing I’d love to be able to even semi-do is replicate Guinness Stout and its smoothness.

Any suggestions? I tried the Coopers long neck stout but found it annoyingly ‘fizzy’ and ‘bubbly’. I recently ordered 3 different varieties of stout from the online store & hope one of them may strike the right chord?

thanks, Sean

thanks Muzzy I'll check that out - no experience with 'recipes' etc. but want to start some time so this may be it?

If I could find a reasonable equivalent to Guinness Stout out of a tin in the meantime I would be super happy. Just don't want a stout that is fizzy! 

I went to Dublin University as a foreign student back in the late 70s (I grew up in Africa) so got quite used to a knock on the door from my digs mates suggesting a late night Guinness at the local Lincoln's Inn (which I see is still operational but much posher than back in those days!) - that's where the 'taste' set in!

cheers, Sean

• Like 1

Use half the normal amount of priming sugar and it will be less fizzy. 

The Guinness everyone knows is a dry stout, and a lot of its mouthfeel comes from the nitro poured head. Pretty hard to replicate the nitro at home without a nitro setup and kegs, but there are dry stout recipes around which should get something similar taste wise.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, Lark said:

thanks Muzzy I'll check that out - no experience with 'recipes' etc. but want to start some time so this may be it?

I didn't see this one earlier. Irish stout, which I imagine is drier along the lines of what Otto suggested.
Just a kit and kilo recipe too. Nice and easy.

https://www.diybeer.com/au/recipe/irish-stout.html