Coopers Community

Stout

rossm

I am only a kit brewer, never reckoned I needed to go any further, my favourite origional bitter is as good as I need a beer. I have tried a few mixtures and variations though, and the latest is a stout, similar to some of the recipies I have seen on here. 1 can Coopers stout, 1 can Coopers Classic Dark and 500gm Coopers light dry Malt. 23l water, both yeasts and let 'er go, she boiled over and generally went berserk for a couple of days, then settled down and ticked along for ten days, looked and smelled pretty good at bottling, and I cracked one the other night at only three weeks in the bottle. Black as a black trackers knackers, great head and head retention and tasted bloody beautiful. just goes to prove, why would you need to go to all the trouble of mashing and boiling and carrying on when you can make such a great beer so easily?

G'day Peter,

I have no idea, I have never used a hydrometer since I started brewing, seems to me someone here could give you an educated guesstamation, plenty of people seem to just know what the % should be........I wouldn't have a clue. In light of my liver condition I will only ever be having one longneck on a given night anyway so it is not that important to me.

Thanks Paul, if had to guess I would have thought somewhere around that but I really wouldn't have a clue.

I got a favourable report on my liver today, it is not as bad as it could have been, and I don't think caused...well totally, caused by drinking, the scare has made me a lot more aware of the down side of drinking too much so I will be taking it a lot easier from here on.

Hi Paul & Ross,

Thanks for the feed back, I think I will just plod along with a tin of concentrate & 500g of BE2. I like to keep it on the light side, down around 3%. At present I have 2 brews a Nut Brown Ale & a Pale Ale working away on the kitchen bench.

Regards to all,

Peter