Coopers Community

ANZAC IPA

Hi brewsters, I've just put this down and wondering what y'all think....

I'm aiming for a lower alcohol beer cos every other one I've made was 5.5%

1.5 kg Coopers Amber Malt

1kg DME

200g Med. Crystal

30g Galaxy flowers @ 40 mins

10g Galaxy flowers @ 20 mins

20g Nelson Sauvin pellets @ 10mins

Danstar Windsor yeast

21 L

OG was 1.043 - which is what IanH's spreadsheet suggested it would be.

Plan to dry hop with 10g galaxy flowers and 10g Nelson Sauvin pellets when the krausen goes down. HOPSES [love]

Should be around 55 IBU's and acomohol approx. 4.1% once bottled.

Am hoping it's not too bitter for the lower alcohol

Hi Adam,

It looks to me to be a nice brew. I have never used Galaxy hop before. What was there AA%. Using mostly Amber malt along with some Crystal grains should bring the balance up to suite the bitterness althought 55 IBUS is a good ol' wack of hops. I've used Nelson Sauvin and like it in the brews I've made. I has a wine like effect/flavour that is quite nice and unique. I find it combines nicely with citrus/fruity style hops and with oak chips![love] Your choice in the Danstar Windsor is an interesting choice combined with the not so English hop styles.[surprised

I'm becoming a fan of full body and flavoured beer low on the ABV% side as I seem to get into more then I really should.[annoyed]

Let us know how it turns out.

Hola everyone.

I'll post the FG and the approximately real ABV once it's done.

RE the AA% - I think they're 12.5% - the galaxy pellets I have are 14.5% I think, like Philbo, but I wanted to use up the flowers. I went for the 40 min boil as I'd heard a few people say the high AA hops like galaxy can be harsh if boiled for too long.

Nelson is fantastic - used it in Weggl's Amber Yak (plus I dry hopped that mofo) and every single person who tries it goes [w00t] [w00t] [w00t]