Coopers Community

Just How Unreal is an Unreal Ale?

Ollie

Hey Fellas,

Got the ingredients at home for the Unreal Ale... I have never done it before and basically got it because, well I figured the name said it all.

Impatience being a very bad personal trait of mine I am dying to find out what it is like and I have not even brewed it yet!

Can anyone please tell me what it is similar too, a Pale Ale, Sparkling Ale... ???

Cheers Guys, interested to hear your thoughts [happy]

Ollie

I made it ages ago and duubed mine the decidedly average ale. I've still got a few bottles as I never bothered finishing it. I do recall haven't some fermentation issues though - I think the yeast stalled from memory - so that may have added to it it's averageness.

Having said that it has always been a popular so I seem to be the odd one out [biggrin]

It probably tastes closer to a sparkling but at the same time nothing like it...confused yet. I reckon the real ale kit has potential with some hops added but I've never gotten around to playing with it.

I made it a while ago also. However, I made it with a slight variation:

1 x Real Ale

750g LDM

500g Dextrose

Made to 21L

My notes say "try":

1 x Real Ale

1.25kg LDM or 1 can of LME

500g Dextrose

200g Pale Crystal

20g POR or Goldings @ 15 minutes

Coopers Recultured Yeast

Make to 23L

I didn't think it was such a bad drop and I didn't have any problems with the yeast stalling.

Muddy/Bill,

I actually was thinking of adding some hops to it like you both said... I have some EKG in the freezer that I want to use but was thinking of just dry hopping them probably two or three days in...

Bill judging by your "try" recipe you would recommend doing a boil for this mix yeah?

Do you think I would be wasting my hops by just doing a throw in and not a boil?

Ollie

It probably tastes closer to a sparkling but at the same time nothing like it...