Coopers Community

Irish Red Ale

ChrisM8

G'day!

I put this brew in 3 days ago.

Irish Red Ale

Now, the thing is...my LHBS gave me Roasted MALT instead of Roasted BARLEY.[crying]

I didn't pick this up until I got home...[roll]

It is my understanding that roast barley is unmalted

So, I presume I've just brewed an Irish BROWN Ale!

As it is still actively fermenting - I pitched a pack of Safale US-05 yeast (my fave ale yeast) as well as the yeast supplied under the lid of the Coopers Pale Ale (also standard practice of mine - to double pitch yeast).

My question is...can I get some Roasted Barley & throw that into the fermenter now???

Cheers!

[alien]

I have also got the irish red ale in the fermenter...and now have lots of crystal and roasted barley leftover: any suggestions as to what else they can be used in gratefully accepted (yes, i'm a novice!)

200g of crystal is an interesting addition to most brews.

Remember crystal will leave the brew sweeter so add it to a brew already high in bitterness - English Bitter is a good example.

100g of Roasted Barley in the Irish Stout - yeah!

• 1 month later...

You're doing fine. The recipe is mid-strength but it also suggests a variation to make a full strength version. So it could quite easily be listed in both mid-strength and ale categories...

I'm also interested in brewing this one, but when shopping for crystal malt i am confronted with "crystal 10", "crystal 15", "crystal 45", "crystal 77", "crystal 120", and "crystal 150"

these are not weights but something else. All the descriptions are the same "Crystal enhances body and malt aroma while imparting varying levels of color." so which should I pick for a good irish red?

I'm also interested in brewing this one, but when shopping for crystal malt i am confronted with "crystal 10", "crystal 15", "crystal 45", "crystal 77", "crystal 120", and "crystal 150"