Coopers Community

Water trouble

IonMane

Hiya, I started brewing in january and last night managed to get 4 of my brews aged sufficiently to try them out with some mates and compare them so we can decide on a style we like best then start experimenting with that.

We settled upon the lager and draught (which had a brewieser booster)

However we also noticed a strong "burnt" flavour, so strong in the Real ale it was undrinkable.We have been wracking our brains as to what caused this and came up with Adelaide water as we effectively eliminated sugars, yeasts, brew tins, contamination/infection. We also noticed this slight "burnt" flavour in a bottle of carlton draught, it was much much smaller, and we only noticed it because we were looking for it.

The taste also exists in adelaide water which I never really noticed until after we tasted the various brews

Other than buying spring water which can add up the costs rather sharply, is there some way I can treat the water to improve the flavour considerably, or alternativey is there another water source in adelaide that is easily accessable?

Have you thought about using a water purifier. I use one all the time and never have any problems with water, even when I was living on a farm and the water was really hard. The brews came out a treat. They cost a bit but its well worth it if your in for the long haul.

Cheers Kris

The guy at the local homebrewshop suggested that the water was too hot, either the water used to heat the cans, or the boilingwater that is initially used to mixh the ingrediants.

I only use hot tap water to heat the cans, and I can tolerate that for around 20 seconds before it is too hot, and the boiling water is used as per instructions.

However, could this be the reason?

I am loathe to start a new brew until I have isolated this problem