Coopers Community

Temp control is there a real need

NicholasS4

Just wondering out of curiosity, even though it says on most coopers kits to ferment a beer at a temp they feel is right, my first brew aussie lager fermented at 14 or less and turned out bloody great (shame ive ran out of bottles). From what ive experinced with 3 brews (im new to this) that temp is not that big of a deal, or is it, will i one day make a stuffed batch lol hope not im on a good run.....What do other brewers think of this cause i was goin to buy a heat belt and im like na give it a miss the lager turned out great why waste the money... Im living in Newcastle not far from the beach so at night it drops to like 5 will this affect the beer with inconsistent temps, just curious....

If you aren't too concerned about great tasting beer then temp control is not important.

However if you want to make the best beer you can then it is very important.

It allows you to brew at a temp which gives yeast their optimum conditions. It also allows you to control the esters produced by yeast.

In the end it is about control. You have absolute control over a variable in the brewing process which can greatly affect the flavour of your beer.

There is only 1 answer to this question..

OH MY FKING GOD YES!!!! Getting control over this part of your process is one of the best things you can do for your beer... many other things may be forgiven if Temp control is sorted.

I have 5 working temp control devices.. 3 on fridges and 1 on my HLT and 1 on my HEX..

its all about control baby [lol] [bandit] [ninja]

capture1wr.jpg

capturegba.jpg

I love control [ninja]

There is only 1 answer to this question..

OH MY FKING GOD YES!!!! Getting control over this part of your process is one of the best things you can do for your beer... many other things may be forgiven if Temp control is sorted.

I have 5 working temp control devices.. 3 on fridges and 1 on my HLT and 1 on my HEX..