Coxy

Ok, this is a bit odd. Here's the recipe:

Tin TCS Irish Stout

200g choc malt/roasted barley steeped 30mins/boiled 10mins

15g EKG 10min

200g lactose

100g blackstrap molasses

Added water to 23L, temp 22 deg.

SG before I pitched yeast was 1.028!! That seems crazy low. I know I didn't add malt or dextrose, but I would've thought it'd be more than that.

I guess I'm going to end up with a pretty "light" stout...

I followed this recipe, but left out the optional LDM and added extra lactose:

http://www.brewerschoice.com.au/recipes/67-mashing-beer-recipe/367-murphys-irish-stout.html

I just ran those quickly through kit and kilo and it comes out at 1.03 ferment down to 1.009.

3.1% alc in the bottle

2.7% alc in the keg

33.2 IBU

The instructions say 4.5% with the 500g of DME so your numbers look about right mate.

All good. Just didn't want you to think I'm a total noob who can't read a recipe [lol]

I mixed in the LDM (dissolved) this morning. It hasn't started its krausen yet (only 9 hours post pitching) so I figure I got in in time.

It wouldnt have mattered if fermentation had started and corret me if Im wrong but adding it after the yeast has taken hold would have been safer, though we do worry too much about these things sometimes [cool]

Meh. If it fails I'll chalk it up to a (rather expensive) learning experience! LOL

I did use boiled water for the LDM and sterilised the container and spoon I used to mix it in, so hopefully that's ok.

TBH I reckon it'd be fine what you have done.

My view is that it should in fact be added prior to Krausening and not after. Why I say this is because during the lag phase the yeast is busy multiplying to achieve enough numbers to ferment the sugars. If it is added afterward then there would be a higher possibility of your brew stalling or even getting some unwanted flavors.

Cool, well, it's full steam ahead now. Nice krausen developing now.