Coopers Community

New to brewing...

JoelM4

Hi everyone,

I am very new to brewing, so please be kind.....

I have made only one batch of IPA. It turned out ok.....the taste and aroma is very nice, but the alcohol level seems quite low.

After doing more research, I may have done something very dumb. Do I add the dextrose during the initial mixing for primary fermentation? I only added the malt and the contents of the can before pitching the yeast. Could the lack of sugars maybe account for the lower alcohol content? The only other sugar I added was during the bottling phase. I am hoping to start my 2nd batch in the next day or two. I am using the Cooper's IPA again, with the hopes of more alcohol this time!

I am also having trouble figuring out how to read the hydrometer with precision, but maybe I will do a better job this time. I am also considering adding another yeast packet.

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks and regards,

Joel

Whether you add the sugar before the majority of the "top-up" water or after (prior to pitching the yeast) will not make any difference to the level of alcohol as the yeast will get to it either way. However, the prefered and proven best method is obviously at the very start.

If you want more ABV% then add more Malt or Dextrose (sugar) with Dextrose being the more fermentable sugar. However, you should also be aware to keep everything in balance.

If you can provide the recipe you did then we will be able to give you some advice as to prefered methods to up you ABV%.

With regards to your hydrometer, just run a sample off then ditch that and run another. Spin the hydrometer around a few times to dislodge any bubbles and take the reading from the bottom of the meniscus. See HERE for a diagram of where the reading is taken from.

Welcome to the forums Joel.

Basically to make beer more alcoholic you need more fermentables in the beer. Fermentables are basically sugar.