Coopers Community

Understanding of sugars in brewing

Freestyler

Hi guys,

I'm new to brewing and have just started my second kit. Nothing special and no adjuncts, just the regular recipes. I'm keen to begin mixing it up for my next batch.

I want to check if my understanding of the sugars is correct and what they do/don't do. I understand the OG FG alc content formula, that's no problem.

Assuming that each additive below, if added exclusively and at the same qty, would the below be correct.

Dextrose - purely for alcohol content. Does not leave any sugars remaining for body, head, flavour etc. Leaves very low FG, almost 1.000

Maltodextrine - Does not ferment as low and dextrose, adds more flavour, body, head retention (will not leave a very low FG)

Malt - Similar to maltodextrine. I would think would ferment even less and leave an even higher FG?

Other sugars such as table sugar, glucose etc, would be the same as dextrose?

Would all of these give you the same OG if you added the same qty and all other things being equal?

Adding only 1kg total if using a combination of the above (as the brew enhancers) you effectively sacrifice alcohol content for flavour/body? So if you want the flavour/body you will end with a higher FG so would need to add additional dextrose to up the OG so that the difference is sufficient enough. I dont want 10% beer or anything but it seems that my first two batches are going to come in at 4% and I would like something on the 5% mark.

Sorry for the rambling above. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks again all,

Malt extracts, contain a variety of non-sugars and have a strong flavor component. LME has a water component and is less fermentable than LME which has as above also has non fermentable component so isnt as fermentable as Dextros or cane/beet sugars but per KG is more fermentable than LME.

Malto Dextrin is a combination of malt extract and dextrin and cannot be broken down by beer yeast.