Coopers Community

It's a sweet thing...

AudreyL

Hi, I'm kind of new in the homebrewing world. After a couple of by-the-book batches, I'm felling ready to try a stout. My boyfriend is fond of guiness. But me a little less, so is there a way to pump up the sweetness without to munch risk? I'm currently using dextrose. Thank you.

Welcome to the forum Audrey.

Dextrose will ferment out and won't result in any residual sweetness in the beer.

Your best bet is to add some more malt which will leave that sweetness.

Perhaps steep some crystal malt grains which will add body and some sweetness to the beer but won't really increase the alcohol content.

Maybe you could try 200g to 300g of Medium Crystal Malt.

Just be careful with it because it is a bit of a balancing act. You want to add a little sweetness without it being sickly or cloyingly sweet.

Thanks, that looks really simple. So, if I get it right, crystal malt is less digestible for the yeast so it won't be transformed in alcohol like the dextrose. Is there other "sugary" that are more alike to stay?

Replace the DEX with DME so if you maybe 800g DME + 300g DEX + a little chocolate malt (200g)... I have a stout I will be doing in a few weeks and this is what I will be doing. (+additional hops and a specialty yeast)

I recently brewed a Dark Ale with (from memory) 100g Carapils and 200g Chocolate malt, maybe a little bit of light crystal also.. cant remember... minimal sugar (few hunders grams) and 600-800g DME, and some wheat malt.. one of our friends came round on the weekend with some Store Bought Coopers Dark Ale and said that he preferred mine and found the Coopers Store bought to be 'watery'.. needless to say I almost fell out of my chair.

Yob

I think you will be amazed if you drop down the DEX (makes for a dryer beer and witha stout you do not want this) and up the DME and add a bit of grains!!!.. ooh and hops[innocent]