Coopers Community

First time brewer needs a few answers, help!

NikolasW

Hey folks. The Coopers DIY beer kit finally arrived in the mail today and I'm itching to make some brew. But, I need to fire off a few questions first as I'm new to this.

My primary concern is sanitizing. I currently live in Taiwan and as such sanitizing is a little problematic. I have yet to investigate the presence of home brew stores here in Taichung City but I'm not optimistic. I say that because I'm sure I could find a nice easy no rinse sanitizer there and I'd be golden.

But, I'm not so lucky.

In case you're wondering why that is such a concern the reason is this : you can not drink the tap water in Taiwan (you can but its strongly advised that you don't). So, my question is about rinsing after I sanitize my gear with a diluted bleach solution. When I actually brew my beer I plan to use bottled water, so the tap water is not an issue there. I'm curious as to the power of the bleach (never use it, really). That is: Would it be problematic if used the tap water to rinse the bleach off of my gear after I sanitize it? I'm assuming yes, but it's worth investigating.

Also, would it cause problems to move the beer around once its finished primary fermentation and put into the bottles for conditioning? I plan on moving to a new apartment but I'll certainly have time to ferment and bottle my kit lager. Is it crucial that the bottles stay immobile during conditioning?

Any other tips you think are pertinent, please feel free to share. I've combed these forums quite a bit already but it wouldn't hurt to reiterate.

Welcome to the forum, Nikolas!

Good questions, all of them.

The bleach:water concentration that I've read is effective is 1 ounce per gallon or 30ml per 4 liters. Rinse it with hot water and avoid using it on stainless steel (it'll corrode it over time).

Safety tip - Don't mix with ammonia or any other chemicals, for obvious reasons.