Coopers Community

Temp controller and gauge STC1000

Davidt15

Bought a couple of the electronic gauges STC 1000 with built in relays as discussed b4 on this forum. Remember soe saying they were going to post how they had it wired up but can not for the life of me find the thread.

i see the unit needs to be mounted into another box and input and output plugs wired. Any suggestions if that got posted if so which thread.

Cheers

David.

Have a look on AHB David, they may have some diagrams. Otherwise have a look at various tempmate diagrams on the same site for wiring a Tempmate as it is the same principal.

I always feel obliged to point out that if you aren't sure what you are doing make sure an electrician checks (or does) your wiring before you plug it in. Better safe than dead.

David, I am no electrician and recommend that if you are not comfortable playing with 240v ciruits then you should ask a sparky to do it. Nevertheless, it will be easier to source most items needed from Jaycar as it is almost a one stop shop for what you need.

You will need:

1 x Jiffy Box

3 x BP Connectors or something similar. I used these.

2 x female flush mount power inputs. (Like a power point plug, sorry don't have link)

1 x 3m power cord

Here is an easy to follow Wire Diagram

compliments from a poster at AHB and I suggest using the same color wires exactly as in the diagram, just cut them from your power cord:

When I make my next one I am going to use a Male Chassis Power Plug for power and a head phone jack to connect the probe. This way I can have just a box with no cords coming from it.

THIS is the thread on AHB... it's quite long now, 16 pages or something, but well worth the read through, many of the issues you will face have been nutted out here and there are plenty of examples of how they have been constructed. Loads of photo's and stuff.