Coopers Community

Strong Stuff

weggl

I\u2019ve had a request from a group of blokes in the banking industry, (who tasted my Little Creatures Clone and loved it) they want a \u201cBankers Brew\u201d pale and strong, somewhere around 8%.

I was wondering if the L/C could be upgraded to that sort of %? Or if some of you blokes, (and Ann) would have a recipe on hand?

Warren

Just on that topic , I like making (& drinking) the coopers real ale, following the recipe suggestion on the wort can (1kg of brewing sugar , 500g light dry malt, but it seems to be high in alcohol content.I'm still learning about using a hydrometer so were wondering if anyone would know the alcohol % of this brew ?

Hang on... you made a little creatures clone? Man, in scotland that stuff is so expensive, but i love it. How did you make it? I'm guessing an ozzie pale ale kit and some cascade? But i think i remember reading that they dry hop with two different varieties.

What was the recipe?

Just on that topic ' date=' I like making (& drinking) the coopers real ale, following the recipe suggestion on the wort can (1kg of brewing sugar , 500g light dry malt, but it seems to be high in alcohol content.I'm still learning about using a hydrometer so were wondering if anyone would know the alcohol % of this brew ?[/quote']

Actually it is just Off Topic nevertheless, you would be getting about 6.2% + .5% if bottled = 6.7% at 23L (7.2% at 21L)

Use the following formula to be more accurate:

OG - FG / 7.46

if bottling then + .5

Hang on... you made a little creatures clone? Man, in scotland that stuff is so expensive, but i love it. How did you make it? I'm guessing an ozzie pale ale kit and some cascade? But i think i remember reading that they dry hop with two different varieties.

What was the recipe?

I am guessing it was an AG recipe??????

A basic LCPA style beer can be made with the following:

1.7kg Coopers Pale Ale

1kg Dry Light Malt or 1kg Dry Wheat Malt

250g Dextrose