Coopers Community

Temperature Question

DavidP19

Hi guys,

I just have a question on what is the ideal temperature to keep the carboy at during fermentation, I mainly brew coopers lager (Coopers Ale yeast) and Mexican Cerveza (Coopers Ale yeast / Lager yeast).

I brew in a temperature controlled fridge so can set any temperature I want without a problem, I have been brewing at 21 degrees C, that being the lowest of the recommended range, but I have noticed here that some seem to aim lower than that even when using Ale yeast.

So my question is what temperature do you recommend I brew at, and what is the effect of brewing at a lower temperature, is it a cleaner result?

Cheers

Dave [biggrin]

Hi Dave, I'm no expert but logic would suggest as low as possible temp for lager without stopping the yeast from working, I believe lager taste will benefit from a longer slow brew time. But I'm sure others will know for sure.

But I must say what a luxury to have a temp controlled fridge, a big plus for perfect brewing [happy]

Thanks for your reply, I agree with the lower the better theory, although the Coopers Lager kit I am using uses the Coopers Ale Yeast, so I am not sure how low I can go safely without the yeast stopping, and whether there is a great benefit in taste to be had at brewing a degree or two lower, which is why I am curious as to what temp others are brewing safely at with the ale yeast.

As for the fridge, yes it is indeed something I would never be without, and is not that expensive to setup either... Just an old second hand fridge that will fit the carboy, and a temperature control unit which you can get from your LHBS or cheaper still off ebay from China (which is where i got mine).. It does involve some wiring up though, so you need to be confident with wiring 240V cables safely.

Cheers

Dave [biggrin]

Haha, first brewer, now electrician - eek lol.