Coopers Community

Ginger Beer Recipe (Bundabergyish) "Non-Alco"

Cee

@DavidM as requested

"I am a novice so it definitely is do-able at our level"

Please Note: This version is not - in MY standards - "Non-alco," as it contains alcohol

However it is the "non-alco" version by title

This recipe carbonates (fizzes) the drink by kinda Bulk priming the brew instead of putting carb drops into every bottle. The result is verrrry minimal alcohol content resulting from fermentation. Test yourself for accuracy but expect under 0.5 % ABV

I have never tried to carbonate using alternative methods in order to attempt a 0% GB

OK so

1 x Morgans Tin Ginger Beer

1x Nutrient (Supplied with tin)

1x Yeast packet (Supplied with tin)

1x Cinnamon Stick (Some supermarkets, most markets)

18 grams of Ginger Root (Yep I mean the fresh stuff that looks like a demented bulb and costs as much as a new liver)

Half a Lemon - or rather, the "Guts" of half a lemon. Not the skin, pith, pips - just the guts of it

Sugar - ok well the tin says 115 gm White Sugar but instead try EITHER (not both) 125 grams LDM OR 125 grams brown suger. I read that 125gm raw sugar is also a good alternative. My tastes like the LDM best it really adds to the GB flavour

The Method is pretty straight forward for novice brewers

1. Add 2 L hot water (not boiling) to FV. Pour in the GB Tin and your sugar substitute (LDM), stir to dissolve

2. Add cold water up to the 18 Litre mark, stirring (sounds familiar)

3. Add the Gingermix Tea (see below), stirring

4. Top up water to 20 Litres

5. Sprinkle in Nutrient packet, stirring

6. Sprinkle in Yeast packet, stirring

7. Cover FV (no need for Krausen collar) and let it stand for 30 minutes

8. Prep bottles but - DO NOT ad carb drops. The sugar (LDM) in the brew will fizz it up enough

9. Stir brew, fill bottles as normal

10. Leave sit for 2 weeks for the bottles to condition

GINGERMIX TEA