Coopers Community

Help

AllanT1

Help! I can't find a reason why my Lager is cloudy, 1st brew, coopers kit, it is fermenting,temp 68*f, ring at the top, some settlement on the bottom, it has been 5 days. I am not known for my patience so that may be the problem. Airlock did not work but I read I didn't need it. I looked at the FAQ and I either missed the reason or it isn't there.Any info would help. Cheers!

Allan, it will be cloudy during fermentation as yeast are in suspension.

It should clear up nicely after bottling as the yeast drops out of suspension, particularly if you leave it in the fermenter for a few days to a week after fermentation finishes before bottling.

Dan

SOm it would be better just to leave it set for a couple more days? They say up to 7, I plan to check it with the hydrometer again tomorrow. So panic not needed I guess! If I bottle it cloudy it will clear. the Yeast will settle to the bottom of the bottle right? Sorry to sound so dumb, it's my first time so be gentle.

Allan, my first lager brew didn't bubble through the airlock either. It also took 14 days to ferment. As I was told at the time..."Patience grasshopper!" You will find it clears up pretty well in the last couple of days in the FV.[happy]

I tend to leave my brews for 2 weeks now as routine, even if they finish fermenting in the first week. After a few weeks in the bottle most brews clear up nicely and get better with more time. Keep the bottles upright and pour gently so as not to disturb the yeast on the bottom and you should be fine.

(PS - if the yeast gets disturbed and the beer gets cloudy - it still tastes just fine!)

Dan

I tend to leave my brews for 2 weeks now as routine, even if they finish fermenting in the first week. After a few weeks in the bottle most brews clear up nicely and get better with more time. Keep the bottles upright and pour gently so as not to disturb the yeast on the bottom and you should be fine.