Coopers Community

carb drops question please help!!

stevep8

i am brewing the mexican cerveza and it will be ready to bottle in about one week. But im not sure how many carbination drops i need to put into my coopers 500ml pet bottles. can anyone advise please!! the instructions say one drop for 35oml and two for 700ml so i was thinking along the lines of one and a half drops.

but it seem stupid that coopers sell these 500ml pet bottles but dont have the correct carb drop amount to go into them. cheers steve[biggrin] steve

Ditch the carb drops and start bulk priming [bandit] The more you brew the more you'll end up with odd sized bottles to fill so bulk priming is the answer. Just get yourself a big food grade bucket and mount a tap, and prime the whole batch at once [cool] the bottling bucket makes filling your bottles a lot easier too.

cheers for the reply m8.[happy] the bulk priming sounds like an excellent idea! im a complete noob at this stuff, and have just bought 48 coopers 500ml pet bottles plus carb drops so i need to use the drops this time.[annoyed]

ive actually experienced something similar but with glass. I was misinformed and thought the bottles where actually 700 mls (I did question that they look small to be 700) although back to the point.

I had used 2 drops for about 10 of the bottles when I thought that the liquid wasnt being used quick enough. Although they have been bottle conditioning for neally a month now and no bombs.

Also another good thing about PET pottles are that you are able to de gas them later down the track.

Matty

I use 1 drop in the 450ml Grolsch bottles, they carbonate mint! I would use 1 drop in your 500ml bottles, but given they are PET I would fill the bottles closer to the top as I suspect the air at the top would more likely compress than the c02 would into the liquid as the PET bottles expand. Bulk does sound like the best option though. Never tried it myself.