Coopers Community

mosaic cryo hop with coopers lager kit

Hey guys, 

i was wondering what recipe i could do with the Mosaic cryo hop and the coopers brew kit that comes with the lager? I was thinking of just going by the normal recipe but i really like pale ales and was thinking of maybe adding some hops to it. Just considering it uses an ale yeast anyhow.  Interested if anyone has used the Cryo hops before and what they think of them, in particular the Mosaic one? Also this is my first time brewing.

If you brew the basic lager recipe that comes with the coopers brew kit you'll likely get a thin beer without much flavour and without the clean, crispness of a good lager. I would definitely use some hops if you've got them and use a Brew Enhancer 2, instead of the BE1 that comes with the kit. Better yet get a kg a light dry malt.

If you had 1kg of ldm it could replace the BE1, but only 500g might leave the beer a bit light in alcohol. BE1 is 600g dextrose and 400g maltodextrin, so you could maybe use half the BE1 and the 500g of ldm. The reasoning is (and there are many more experienced brewers on this forum that could give more info or even correct me) that too high a percentage of dextrose can leave a beer a bit 'thin' in body. Maltodextrin is unfermentable so is used to add body (presumably to counteract the dextrose) but for this reason can sometimes leave some perceived sweetness in the beer. Most of the brewers here will guide you to use either BE2/BE3 or just use malt extract and leave dextrose/maltodextrin out altogether. For your first brew I think it will be fine to use half of it and see what you think.

The malt will add colour and flavour but it's the ale yeast that makes the beer an ale.