Coopers Community

basic brewing

c43580

I have been brewing for a few years, but have only just recently started reading this forum. All I do is mix up my brew, and i only use homebrand sugar. It then go's in a temp controled box from one weekend till the next at about 25deg, bottle it with carb drops. Then i put the bottles back in the temp controled box for another week. Tastes good to me and the mates. How does that sound or could i do better

first thing mate.......use dextrose, light dry malt or other "fermentable sugars" and your beer will be even better!!

put 3 tallies in the fridge n come back n "hammer' this website whenever ya get time!!! (while drinkin ya tallies).

go through every window in the "homebrew " link,,,,adjuncts, recipes, whatever...but especially "search' this forum!! (search link up top of page you are reading).

...if ya still got questions ask away , someone will help or share an opinion or if its a tough one paul from coopers will help ya out!

cheers :D

matt

p.s. TEMP CONTROL IS GREAT!!!!

IT SUPRISES YA USE NORMAL SUGAR YET ARE SMART ENOUGH TO HAVE TEMP CONTROL! :D

Hi Brian!

Welcome to the forum mate! :wink:

If you're happy with what you're doing then don't change!

If you want to try something different, maybe try some dry malt extract instad of sugar? (Has Shepparton got a homebrew shop?)Coles has Coopers dry malt sometimes!

Are you looking for something more out of your brews? If so, any idea what aspects of the brew you might be trying to improve? Appearance, aroma, flavour, body, mouthfeel, finish?? or Are you simply looking for something different in the brew rather than an improvement as such?

If not, as Luke said...

Thanks boys, I will try dextrose next time, do you use it the same as sugar eg; 1kg or a bit less to drop the alcohol content. I like my brew just fine but i have never tried to do it any different. If i am not drinking home brew i would buy carlton draught, so a brew that tastes like that would be good.