Coopers Community

Mexican Cerveza Question

Fabulous

I am new to the Coopers home brewing kits. Have brewed two so far..Lager and Stout that are bottled and fermented as per predictions.

I have just put a Mexican Cerveza on 24 hours ago and the fermentation is extremely slow. The airlock is not bubbling and the froth although covering the brew is not very thick (10mm) with no large bubbles. My other brews were well and truly bubbling through the airlock at around 12 per minute after 24 hours. The mix is Cerveza can and 1kg BE2, 23litres. Starting SG 1032.

Question.

Is this normal for Cerveza or do I have a problem with sticking. The temperature suggests activity...room temperature is 24C, brew temp is 26-27C.

Thanks,

Phil

I think I just learnt something but I don't know what :?

Last night I checked the brew and there was no change, it appeared that it had stopped and no change in the SG. So I ensured the temperature stayed around 26C overnight.

Woke up this morning and no activity from the airlock. I took the lid off and checked the wort and the foam had all but disappeared. Damn. So I put the lid back on to read some posts on this site to see what to do next.

5 minutes later I passed the fermenter. The airlock was bubbling away at 14/minute. A couple of hours later and it is still going.

I assume that allowing some air in kicked it off.

No, you can assume correctly that the action of removing the lid and then screwing it back on has achieved a more airtight seal and some or all of the CO2 - produced during fermentation - is now passing through the airlock rather than leaking out.

Never, Never trust the airlock as an indicator of fermentation activity!

Good beer can be produced without the airlock bubbling once.

The foam has probably subsided because the fermentation has progressed beyond the high krausen (foaming) stage.

Hi Fab,

Paul doesn't even use a lid and airlock!!! :shock:

Glad wrap held on by the lid's o ring does the job just as well!