Coopers Community

Hops Pellets

Beeblebrox

I just bought a can of Canadian Blonde concentrate yesterday, as I felt like brewing something I hadn't tried before.

My understanding is that for some this brew may be a bit bland, and need a little something; I was thinking of going with the recommended BE1, which I bought with the can, but also maybe some Hallertau Hops pellets. I've never used pellets before, just the bag; what's the difference in quantity that you would use, and is there anything else I need to consider when using them, such as letting them settle, filtering them out, or containing them in an old stocking or something?

Hey 'Brox

Don't let Chad hear you talking like that. I don't think the kit is bland and as I recall the style doesn't have huge hop characteristics. If it was an APA I'd be looking at 50g for flavour and aroma additions but to stay closer to the Canadian I'd go for 25g in 23 litres.

Also I'd be inclined to go with an American hop but Hallertau is a nice hop and I've used it with the Draught kit for some nice results.

Thanks Scottie, the last three brews I made I used various hops bags - hallertau, saaz, and cascade, and have developed a taste for a bit of hops in my beer.

I may have said bland, but I think I meant more that I like a little bit more hops flavour and aroma in my beer than you get from just doing the k&k strictly following the instructions; sure the hops is there, but it's a bit understated for my taste.

I've never used the pellets before, and thought I'd rather go with that, and buy a 100g bottle than a bunch of small bags; better value for money, and some would say likely to be fresher too.

If I was to go with an American hop instead of Hallertau, what would you recommend?

I always thought the hop teabags contained pellets. Do they contain flowers?

A lot of the American hops are not very subtle, so Hallertau may be a good one for you. I think Saaz would be nice too.