Coopers Community

Hops

trabfountain

I'm still waiting for my STC-100 temp controller but in the meantime made a TC Authentic IPA. The guy at the Brewmakers store suggested to use the kit with a 1.5kg tin of LME which I did. OG was 1050 and FG was 1010 so I guess I ended up with around 5.1 abv. It's only been down for a week and I couldn't wait to try one. Taste is OK but perhaps a little lightweight. As I'm new to brewing other than literally just kits and mainly stout at that. I would appreciate some advice as to how to improve this IPA. I have read a lot on this forum about adding hops but again being a newbie I would have no idea what hops or even how to add them to the brew.

Hi Trab

What do you mean by lightweight? Are you talking about the aroma or taste?

Adding hops via dry hopping will impart aroma to your beer but not really affect the body. Our senses confuse aroma with flavor so to some degree you will also perceive an alteration to the flavor.

Perhaps you are talking about mouth-feel. Protein and dextrins in your brew will provide a perception of body. The amount of residual sugar in the beer basically determines whether it is full, medium or light bodied. Each style of beer is custom designed to have the appropriate appearance, aroma and taste for the style of beer.

Without knowing what you like, all I can say is this:

Add shitloads of hops and experiment with different yeasts, malts, and grains.

But yeah, 'a little lightweight' is hard to overcome without specifics.

What exactly is your beer missing?

And what exactly do you want it to be?

I should have been more specific but I guess it needs more bitterness and a bit more body. A particular favourite of mine is the Sierra Nevada IPA so if I could get close to that I'd be more than happy. You mention adding hops and but I'm not sure what type I would need or how to add them to the brew. Any helpful advice would be much appreciated.